#61 Powder Pigment Nails

Ruth posted this pin to our evergrowing “To Try” board yesterday, and so I thought I’d carpe the diem and give it a try: Dab some powder pigment (like eye shadow) above the cuticle before the polish dries and blow the color onto the nail. Apply a top coat and admire!

The link with the pin is not great, but the instructions on the pin itself gave me enough to work with:

Dab some powder pigment (like eye shadow) above the cuticle before the polish dries and blow the color onto the nail. Apply a top coat and admire!

Started off by choosing a light blue polish, the same as I used for the turquoise & gold stone nails, and a gold eye shadow. I didn’t have any loose powder eye shadow in a suitable shade, so used a knife to scrape out some gold pressed shadow into a little dish. I then painted two coats of the blue on, and before the second coat dried I dabbed some shadow onto the base of one nail, using my finger. I then tried to blow the shadow across my nail, as per the instructions.

Well, this happened:IMAG1354Eye shadow got blown across my kitchen table…a slight flaw in the plan??

I guess I could have moved away from the dish of loose powder before attempting this wind powered idea again, but I decided it really didn’t spread enough to achieve the desired look anyway. So for the remaining nails, I dabbed a chunk of loose powder directly onto each nail, and then when the polish was dry, I used a finger to dust the powder off, leaving only that which was dried into the polish behind.

Does any of that make sense?

Well, here’s how it turned out anyhow:IMAG1356I quite like ’em, although a bit of a faff..!

BTW, if anyone has any suggestions on how I can take nail pics without making my hands look like bear claws, please do get in touch…

Holly x

One thought on “#61 Powder Pigment Nails

Leave a Reply

