Guest Pinnage – Sarah (& Martha’s) Doily Wreath

A little perusing on facebook the other day turned up trumps when I came across a beautiful bit of crafting. Our friend Sarah is tres creative, and here is her lovely take on a Martha classic :)

“I love wreaths. I spotted this beautiful doily wreath  a couple years back and ‘pinned’ it as a mental note (I don’t think I had Pinterest then) to HAVE TO make one day. That Martha never ceases to give me craft-envy.

.

I’m stoked that I finally did it in time for this Christmas, so here’s my um… I think cheaper and easier version.

. IMG_2760

I used:
– polystyrene wreath 50 cm in outer diameter, 7 cm width (from one of the craft emporiums)
– string of lights, mine was battery operated and about 2-3 metres from first bulb to last (K-mart)
– various paper doilies, about 30-40 or more depending on how you want it to look (I used small ones from the $2-shop and a Japanese dollar-mart, plus some larger ones too. I’ve noticed online party shops stock really beautiful ones for a good price.)
– tape, for sticking down the lights
– pins, for pinning down the doilies to the polystyrene
– extra bits of sheer white fabric, (Used it to ‘dull’ the lights from the bulbs a bit if they were sticking out too brightly, as mine were LED lights. Totally not necessary but I had some from a previous wreath, which actually originated from my wedding dress!)

Martha uses a wire base for the wreath but I didn’t know where to get one easily, plus I was happy to reuse my polystyrene wreath base (is that what you call it?) from a previous one, so that’s what I started with. Because I used a rounded or more 3D wreath base, it looks quite different to the original.

Overall you probably get the idea of how I made it from looking at the list of things I used. Basically, I just taped the lights down, then pinned the doilies to the wreath. Some parts took me a few goes to get the look I wanted. 

Here are some close ups:

IMG_2761

Couple different types of lacy doilies

IMG_2774Lights taped to wreath
IMG_2808Back of wreath with battery pack taped down! 

Overall really happy with how it looks.
For me finishing something is always an accomplishment. Honestly.

Merry Christmas!

IMG_2804

Some other great doily Pinterest ideas are:

– More wreathing!- folding/scunching the paper doilies then pinning at the middle point to make a different kind of look like this. Totally was tempted to do this one too.
261771797060399282_4I0euXEH_c

– Doily Lampshade- using old fabric doilies, you can do this…
5136987044446742_bgh9Anpa_c

– Simple paper doilies on string of fairy lights. (And you can get heart ones from shops like this if you are in NZ)
.

Thanks, Sarah!!!! Awesome job and beautiful ideas ^_^ Hx

One thought on “Guest Pinnage – Sarah (& Martha’s) Doily Wreath

  1. Pingback: Plethora of Paper Art + Craft | Twinterest

Leave a Reply

