Guest Pinnage – Ombre cake

Last month Ruth posted about her Ombre Adventures – she made a delish ombre coffee cake, inspired by a few beauties on Pinterest, including this pink number:

Now, two of our favourite things in life are people + cake, so it was a real joy to get a note from an NZ friend of mine to say that she’d given the ombre coffee cake a go, and that it was a great success!

Here’s the note from Toni:

“I had never even heard of an Ombre cake before I saw it here but was totally inspired to make one. It seemed a bit gluttonous to make one for myself (especially since hubby was away at the time) so I waited until I could make one for Mum’s birthday.

“I loved your idea using coffee for the flavour and colour variations, Ruth, as I am not a fan of food colouring but as everything I make has to be toddler friendly, I made only one tier coffee and the other two in vanilla and chocolate. I iced it in buttercream roses and although it was my first time ever trying it and my technique needs a lot of work I am extremely proud of the result!”

Look at that! Isn’t that fab?? Well done, Toni – amazing work. The Roses look beautiful, and I love the real difference in colours.

“It was really yummy but so huge it took me Michael and Aidan nearly a week to get through our half and that included help from a neighbour!… Keep up the inspiring work, I’m loving it!”

^_^

Here’s her recipe “in standard format and in brackets my lazy measurements so I can do the whole thing on the digital scales and not bother with measuring cups” (my kind of baking!!)

Toni’s Lazy White Cake

1 cup (200g) white sugar
½ cup (115g) butter at room temperature
2 eggs
2 tsp (10ml) vanilla essence
1½ cups (190g) plain flour
1¾ tsp (8g) baking powder
½ cup (125ml) milk

Preheat oven to 175°C. Grease pan (I am not sure exactly what size tin this recipe is for but I have made it in all sorts of shapes and sizes you just need to lengthen the cooking time slightly for smaller size pans as the cake is deeper – this is my preference as I like the look of tall cakes)

Cream butter and sugar until light and fluffy (I use an electric hand held beater but a mixer would do an awesome job – then again when I started baking a wooden spoon always did a perfectly fine job too). Add the eggs one at a time and beat until fully incorporated and mix looks light and fluffy again. Mix in vanilla essence.

Combine flour and baking powder and add to creamed mixture (to be honest here I just plonk my mixing bowl on the scales with a sieve on top, tare the scales and measure straight into the bowl – no need to make more dishes than necessary) and mix well. Stir in milk until batter is smooth.

Bake 30 – 40 mins (closer to 45 – 50 for a narrower/deeper tin) until skewer comes out clean when inserted into the middle or cake springs back when gently pressed.
This recipe also makes not too bad cupcakes (bake 20 – 25 mins) though a little heavier than your classic light airy cupcakes but also harder to muck up and sturdier which is good if little hands will be decorating them.

As I said before I play with this recipe quite a bit and I used the same basic recipe for both the chocolate and coffee layers. For the coffee layer I simply added approx 1 Tbs instant coffee powder to the flour and baking powder when sifting it in though you could also dissolve it in the milk if you prefer. Add more or less coffee if you prefer it stronger or milder etc – I just guessed the amount and figured it was about right as the batter tasted like a sweet cup of coffee. For the chocolate layer I removed 2 heaped kitchen dessert spoons of flour (before adding the baking powder) and replaced it with the same of cocoa powder – again this is to personal taste, I like my chocolate rich and dark, I think the metric measure would be somewhere between 4 and 6 standard tablespoons. Presto flavoured cakes!

I have also in the past added lemon zest and essence instead of vanilla to make it a lemon cake, raspberry essence and a drop of colour to make pink fairy cupcakes, almond essence, rum essence with cinnamon and sultanas etc etc, you get the picture – it is an anything you want recipe. It is really hard to get it wrong as you can mix as long as you like, so good if teaching kids to bake.

—-

Thanks so much for sharing this Toni! Loving your work!

Holly x

4 thoughts on “Guest Pinnage – Ombre cake

  1. Pingback: Toni’s “can’t get it wrong” White Cake | Always A Little Further To Fly

Leave a Reply

