#25 DIY sportsdrink

Of the many things our mother blessed us with, a love of running is pretty consistent throughout the family. Off the top of my head I counted 20+ half and full marathons by immediate family members.

One of the best things about running is that, besides a good pair of running shoes ( I am a Saucony fan, whereas Holly favours Asics), it is virtually free. I’m currently training for a half marathon and, as far as I know, after about 90 minutes of continual exercise your body is most likely keen for some more readily available energy. Most people grab a sportsdrink – easy fluids + carbs + electrolytes. Powerade and the like are admittedly not going to break the grocery budget, but they don’t really consist of anything more than you already have in your store cupboard, so after I saw this pin on pinterest I decided to make my own.

The full info is from this website and makes over two litres (1 quart= 1.13L). For one cup the quantities I used are approx 2 tsp of sugar and a sprinkle of salt into a slightly stronger than normal glass of squash/juice. I used squash concentrate as I couldn’t easily find powdered drink sachets here in the UK.

FYI this is a really interesting article on electrolyte replacement written by a dietitian in the running times.

Miss F, future runner:x R

2 thoughts on “#25 DIY sportsdrink

  1. Most adorable baby runner in the world! Will make sure John reads this. He is gearing up for his last big runs before the Auckland halfy and you know how he loves to save money (his newest thing is making his own LSA). Really enjoying reading your posts :)

Leave a Reply

